A Gambling Man

A Gambling Man is a portrait of Charles II, exploring his elusive nature through the lens of these ten vital years - and a portrait of a vibrant, violent, pulsing world, racked with plague, fire and war, in which the risks the king took ...

A Gambling Man

A Gambling Man

Charles II was thirty when he crossed the Channel in fine May weather in 1660. His Restoration was greeted with maypoles and bonfires, like spring after long years of Cromwell's rule. But there was no going back, no way he could 'restore' the old. Certainty had vanished. The divinity of kingship fled with his father's beheading. 'Honour' was now a word tossed around in duels. 'Providence' could no longer be trusted. As the country was rocked by plague, fire and war, people searched for new ideas by which to live. Exactly ten years later Charles II would stand again on the shore at Dover, laying the greatest bet of his life in a secret deal with his cousin, Louis XIV. The Restoration decade was one of experiment: from the science of the Royal Society to the startling role of credit and risk, from the shocking licence of the court to the failed attempts at toleration of different beliefs. Negotiating all these, Charles II, the 'slippery sovereign', played odds and took chances, dissembling and manipulating his followers. The theatres were restored, but the king was the supreme actor. Yet while his grandeur, his court and his colourful sex life were on display, his true intentions lay hidden. A Gambling Man is a portrait of Charles II, exploring his elusive nature through the lens of these ten vital years - and a portrait of a vibrant, violent, pulsing world, racked with plague, fire and war, in which the risks the king took forged the fate of the nation, on the brink of the modern world.

More Books:

A Gambling Man
Language: un
Pages: 592
Authors: Jenny Uglow
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-11-05 - Publisher: Faber & Faber

Charles II was thirty when he crossed the Channel in fine May weather in 1660. His Restoration was greeted with maypoles and bonfires, like spring after long years of Cromwell's rule. But there was no going back, no way he could 'restore' the old. Certainty had vanished. The divinity of
Untitled Aloysius Archer Book 2
Language: un
Pages:
Authors: Jenny Uglow
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021 - Publisher:

Books about Untitled Aloysius Archer Book 2
A Gambling Man
Language: un
Pages: 448
Authors: David Baldacci
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-15 - Publisher: Aloysius Archer series

Evoking the golden age of crime and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man from one of the world's bestselling thriller writers, David Baldacci. A lucky roll of the dice It is nearly 1950 and Aloysius Archer is on his way to Bay Town, California
A Gambling Man
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: David Baldacci
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-20 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Aloysius Archer, the straight-talking World War II veteran fresh out of prison, returns in this riveting #1 New York Times bestselling thriller from David Baldacci. The 1950s are on the horizon, and Archer is in dire need of a fresh start after a nearly fatal detour in Poca City. So
A Gambling Man
Language: un
Pages: 580
Authors: Jennifer S. Uglow
Categories: Great Britain
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009 - Publisher:

Charles II was thirty when he crossed the Channel in fine May weather in 1660. His Restoration was greeted with maypoles and bonfires, like spring after long years of Cromwell's rule. But there was no going back, no way he could 'restore' the old. Certainty had vanished. The divinity of

Popular All Time

Fences
The Housewives
Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain
Lord of the flies
In the Heights
Press Reset
All You Need to Know About the Music Business
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two: The Official Playscript of the Original West End Production
Funk Guitar Mastery
Rush 2112
These Tangled Vines
Pokémon: Black & White 2 - Strategy Guide
Nikon D7000 Experience: The Still Photographer's Guide to Operation and Image Creation with the Nikon D7000
Hoyle's Modern Encyclopedia of Card Games
So Much Things to Say: The Oral History of Bob Marley
Bridge for Complete Beginners
Dungeons & Dragons Art & Arcana
Piano Essentials

Recent Books: